Click here to order the latest issue of NAG Magazine
Monster Hunter World: Iceborne

You may want to backup your save file if you’re playing Monster Hunter World: Iceborne on PC

No big deal, Monster Hunter World: Iceborne could just delete your save when it tries to start. Who even needs progress?

The Iceborne expansion to Monster Hunter: World came to PC just a few days ago, on 9 January, and multiple player reports suggest that it has the potential to overwrite your existing save file. Apparently, some players are being met with a “no compatible save was found” message when they try to start the game. If you continue, the game will create a new save file and delete the existing one. Then, if you have cloud saves enabled, your cloud save will be replaced, too, when you exit the game.

It’s unclear what makes the overwrite more likely, with some speculating that it’s happening to people that haven’t played Monster Hunter: World in a while, because the game’s save data format was changed before Iceborne came out. However, some regular players have lost their saves while others, that haven’t played for years, have been unaffected, so that doesn’t appear to be the only trigger.

Moral of the story: create a local backup of your Monster Hunter: World save, even if everything’s been working fine, just in case.

Via GameSpot.